Little Bowden took part in Safer Internet Day 2019. A parent presentation shown in school on 6th February is available here:
If you would like information regarding safer use of the internet and the 2019 focus area please see the link and attachments below:
Videos which are designed for parents to watch are here:
You can also find lots of information here to help you to keep your children safe in today's world.
Lots of updates on here at the moment for parents, including information about tik tok, which some of you may want additional guidance on:
Digital wellbeing – Guidance for parents
Created as part of Childnet’s work in the UK Safer Internet Centre, the newly published hot topic looks at Digital Wellbeing giving guidance for parents and carers to help support children and young people across different age groups The links are shown below.
If you wish to have advice about cyber bullying the following links are useful:
Introducing ‘Snap Maps’ - the new location sharing feature in Snapchat
Snapchat have introduced a new feature, the ‘Snap Map’.
This location based map allows users to see where in the country their Snapchat contacts are, as well as seeing location based photos and videos. The Snap Map shows a user’s Bitmoji, their cartoon avatar within Snapchat, pinpointed on a world map. Users can then zoom into the map to see the exact location of their friends.
How to access Snap Maps
To access the Snap Map in the latest update of the Snapchat app, users need to go to their camera screen within Snapchat and zoom out using two fingers. This will then launch the Snap Maps screen and will allow a user to see their friend’s locations.
Choose who can see your location
It is important to be careful about who you share your location with, as it can allow people to build up a picture of where you live, go to school and spend your time.
Given how specific this new feature is on Snapchat - giving your location to a precise pinpoint on a map - we would encourage users not to share their location, especially with people they don’t know in person.
There are three settings for sharing your location on the map, these are; Ghost mode, My Friends, and Select Friends. But what do these settings mean?
When first opening the Snap Map users get to make a decision of who they want to be able to view their location. Once these settings are in place they can always be changed in Snapchat’s settings. This can be done in two ways:
Our top tips
Sharing location can be a risky thing to do. Our tips for location sharing are: